Raya open house at our home..?? Serious.

This Ramadhan and Hari Raya was indeed a blessed one, I don’t have enough fingers and toes to count the number of ways how it was great

I got to spend the entire month without a single work responsibility

I cooked, shopped, made kuihs (which I coerced people into eating, lol!), prayed teraweeh, khatam the quran

IMG_8569.JPG  IMG_8575.JPG

Along was around for the first time in 6 years.

And because her wedding had a grand total of 50 odd attendees (<3) my parents thought that it would be a good idea for us to have a small open house so that family that couldn’t come for the wedding could come for this instead. In this 25 years that I’ve been alive, we barely go out for raya, or had much guests for raya let alone have an open house.

And you would think that an open house is easy right…? You cook a little, you clean a little, and that should be it.

HO BOY. 

My mom went absolutely nutso batso.

IMG_3207.JPG
Malam raya at Geylang. This was after all the cooking, cleaning and takbir that went on. #pasrah

Suddenly, the carpet did not match the ceiling, the water wasn’t wet enough.

FullSizeRender 13.jpg
“Our home has no plants,” Ibu says. WHEN WAS THAT A PROBLEM??!

She got inspired and wanted to be a gardener, a chef, a professional cleaner all in one day.

Well, her idea(s), my execution (of course). 

        IMG_5392.JPG      IMG_8636.JPG

IMG_0665.JPG  IMG_5442.JPG

Have you guys been in a situation where you had to lug huge ass indoor plants by yourself, cart them into an uber to ikea to buy more shenanigans then cart the WHOLE  loot back home on another uber?? Ya, me neither. Until 4 weeks ago that is. #nasibbaiksayang #anaksyurga LOL.

She even lifted her “no artificial sweeteners for children” mantra and got cotton candy, lollies, chocolate fondue all for the little (and not so little) guests.

IMG_6270.JPG IMG_8675.JPG

IMG_8701.JPG
PSA: I’m sorry if your kids drove you up the wall that day. Dry cleaning on my mom, please take a number.

Ibu cooked up a storm, we ensured that every corner of the house sparkled and ibu even tried to sneak ah moo and twinkleboobs into the washing machine. #theydidnotappreciateit #theyareclean #thankyouverymuch

IMG_5337.JPG

I had a blast being with family, my grandmothers especially.

I could tell that Ayah especially was proud that he has reliable children (READ: daughters) that he could count on to keep the food warm, to entertain the guests and clean after the mess once it was all said and done.

Perhaps next raya, Insyallah, I would be settled in my own home.

But this right here, will always be home and family.

IMG_8691.JPG

Leave a Reply

